thepathNY

half a tank is all you need…

Is this thing on?

Leave a comment

I find myself asking this question more frequently as technology advances in ways I never imagined.  I remember my first typewriter – it was going out of style but oh, what an exciting day!  I then upgraded to a word processor (remember those?) and finally to the computer.  I fondly recall suffocating the modem in a valiant but failed attempt to muffle the dial-up and static sound emitted from the machine.  In the last few years, I’ve moved from the beeper to the flip phone, Blackberry to iPhone.  I have more access than I know what to do with; the race to stay “with it” is exhausting.

The end of 2011 sees my arrival, albeit late, on the blog scene.  It’s been rife with growing pains.  I’m proud of making the leap from an inappropriate and innocent mistake during Job’s social media meeting: “I’ll send over something that you can twiddle?  twit?  twat?” to the beginnings of this here blog.  I feel I’ve come a long way.

I still believe in face-to-face conversations and the joy of body language.  I invest time and money in human interaction.  I’m a stockholder in the business of relationships.  Yet, as I opened the October and November 2011 editions of Counseling Today, low and behold I see that counselors are encouraged and perhaps even expected to be online.  Some even offer online counseling!  Any good professional knows that a hobby becomes a craft when one can consciously and intentionally make changes in order to be more effective.  Enter: this blog.

I get it.  We help people.  People are online.  The logic completes itself, really.  No longer do I growl, “Is this thing on?” with a grimace and a fiery swipe at the object in question.  I take serious joy in finding out if it is on because if it is, I can use it.  If I use it, I can connect and connecting is what it’s all about.

Author: thepathny

I am... a clinician an educator a writer a music aficionado a lover of learning, living and growing

Leave a Reply

